My Favourite Basic Porridge

I make porridge a lot – especially on cooler days. Lately I’ve been experimenting with different grains and seeds as the porridge base, but if I need something quick to cook and reliable, I still always go back to oats. In some ways porridge is not the kind of thing you really need a recipe for and everybody has different texture and taste preferences, but when I made this version for the first time a few weeks ago, the whole way through breakfast I kept asking my husband – ‘Is this not the best porridge I’ve ever made?!’ and he obligingly agreed!  It’s rich and creamy just the way I like it, with a couple of special additions that add some new layers to the flavour. To me it feels like it doesn’t stray too far from my traditional porridge memories but just has a little more depth and pizzaz! I hope you find it as yummy as I do!

My Favourite Basic Porridge

per serve

1/2 cup oats

1 – 1 1/2 cups of almond milk depending on your texture preference (you can use other milks if you prefer but almond milk is yummy and good for you! I have also substituted up to half the liquid with water if you need to but it’s creamiest with all milk)

1 tablespoon coconut oil

1 heaped teaspoon almond butter

Just add the oats and 1 cup milk to a pan and bring to a gentle boil, stirring occasionally. If you want to thin it out at this point add the extra 1/2 cup milk and bring to boil again. Turn down to low, and add the coconut oil and almond butter and stir through well. The coconut oil will melt fairly quickly and stir through easily, while the almond butter needs to be more thoroughly mixed, although if you don’t mix it all you’ll just get surprise pockets of chewy almondyness throughout which is not such a bad thing! Keep stirring on low until the oats are nice and soft and most of the liquid is absorbed. Then top with whatever takes your fancy and dig in!

My Favourite Basic Porridge 1

Leave a Reply

