Mixed Potato Rosti Stack with Coriander Pesto

For a while now, I have been gradually trying to make more of our food from scratch, particularly when the shop versions of things contain additives and preservatives. I’m trying not to be overwhelmed by doing this all at once, but slowly expanding my repertoire as I feel I can. One thing that has stayed on the treat list from the shops is the occasional hashbrown for a weekend breakfast cook up. Both Matt and I love them, and I always thought they would be way too fiddly to make and hard to get right. Turns out I was wrong! I finally decided to give a homemade hashbrown or rosti a try last week and lo and behold, they were not only pretty easy but crispy, tasty, and all natural to boot. Another packaged food bites the dust! I used a mix of sweet potato and regular potato to boost the goodness factor and the colour mix looks cool too.

Today I topped my second attempt at the rosti with some fresh salad and a poached egg. I discovered a new local restaurant last week and had a yummy dish with coriander pesto, so while that was fresh in my mind I’ve given that a go too. Coriander doesn’t have quite the same punch as a traditional basil pesto, but it still complemented the rest of the flavours nicely. I’ve served this to both new and old friends in the last little while and received thumbs up all around. I hope you find the same!

Mixed Potato Rosti Stack with Coriander Pesto

For the rosti – per piece (2 stacks per person was a good breakfast)

100g in total of potato/sweet potato (I used around 1/2 and 1/2 but up to you!)

A few grinds of salt and pepper

Oil to fry – I used olive or grapeseed

Simply grate all the potato and then put it in a porous tea towel, or piece of cheesecloth, or a nut milk bag. Squeeze as much of the water out into the sink or a bowl as you can and pour it away. Put the strained potato back into a bowl and season with the salt and pepper. Cover the base of a frypan with the oil and put on medium to high heat. Let it warm up for a minute or two. To keep the shape of my rosti and help compress the grated potato, I used some egg rings in the pan. You could probably use cookie cutters in the same way. Press a spoonful or two of potato mix into each ring and press down to compact it. Let it fry for a minute or so and then remove the egg ring. Fry each side for 2-5 minutes until crispy and brown. Letting them cook slightly more will make it easier to keep their shape. Drain on some paper towel.

For the pesto- serves 6 or use leftovers in sandwiches or salads

1 bunch of coriander chopped roughly

50g cashews or pine nuts

juice of 1/2 lemon

20g/ml olive oil

Put it all in the food processor and blitz it!

To put it all together…

Poach your eggs, chop/prep any other bits (I used avocado, baby spinach leaves and tomato), then stack it all and enjoy!

Rosti Stack with Coriander Pesto 3

Leave a Reply

